Staff CARE Awards

Staff Awards Header

The Staff CARE Awards were held at the Eden Project on Friday 2 November 2018 at the Eden Project.

Healthcare professionals from across Cornwall gathered at the world-famous Eden Project, when it played host to a sparkling awards ceremony that celebrated the outstanding efforts of staff from a wide range of services within Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust.

The Trust’s third CARE Awards ceremony celebrated 39 finalists and seven awards winners.

Award winners had been nominated by their peers for their outstanding contribution to patient care, for consistently demonstrating best practice and for going above and beyond in the support of others.

Allison O’Kelly, who is the Clinical Lead for the East Memory Service and winner of the first ever Partnership Award commented “I’m really pleased to be the first person to win the Partnership Award in this new category created by our Chair, Dr. Barbara Vann.

“Partnership is not only working effectively within your team, but looking beyond that to include other sources of support and advice for our patients. We have been fortunate to have some really great resources in our area, who we now include in our MDTs and other initiatives as an extended part of our team. This looks really positive and exciting for future service delivery.”

Karen Marsland who scooped the prize for Administrator of the Year commented “to win this award and to have been recognised for my dedication and professionalism means so much to me and my team. The awards night was a very special occasion, celebrating staff achievements which I was delighted to have been part of.  I would not have received this award without the support of my amazing team. Together all of us are winners”.

The CARE Awards also celebrated the Trust’s volunteers, with Jill Bonehill picking up the Volunteer of the Year Award for her work at Trelil Court in Bodmin.

Dr. Barbara Vann, Chair of the Trust said “I know we all look forward to this very special evening – one of the reasons for that is that it is an opportunity for us to celebrate the achievements of our colleagues and friends. We work in a very pressurised environment as we all know and it is the quality of our relationships and our feelings of being valued that carry us through. You are all valued by patients, by their families and by us. Congratulations on being here; you are all winners!“

The event was funded entirely by generous private sponsorship from EY, VerseOne, Essity, Capsticks, Servelec, CareWorks, Totalmobile, In Safe Hands, Jo Downs handmade glass and Gifts International.

Kevin Adler, speaking on behalf VerseOne who had made the trip from London said, “We are thrilled to be sponsoring the CARE Awards for the third year in a row. This was a great opportunity for us to put something back into the health service. We were delighted to support this event which recognises the excellent work the professional staff at the Trust deliver every day to ensure excellent patient care.”

A spokesperson from Servelec commented “it is important to us to acknowledge the care and hard work of healthcare workers in a market with increasing pressures. We are delighted to be part of the awards.”

Sharon Hambley

Above and Beyond for Individuals Award – Sharon Hambley

Gywn Dowr

Team of the Year Award – Gwyn Dowr

Karen Marsland

Administrator of the Year Award – Karen Marsland

Krzysztof Gryczkowski

Student of the Year Award – Krzysztof Gryczowski

Jill Bonehill

Volunteer of the Year Award – Jill Bonehill

Alison O'Kelly - Partnership Award

Partnership Award – Allison O’Kelly


All our winners