Expert Patient Programme

The Expert Patient Programme is a six week course which aims to give you additional skills to self-manage your condition and develop a better relationship with the healthcare professionals who support you.

What does the Expert Patient Programme provide?

The Expert Patient Programme provides training and support for adults who are living with a long-term health condition. By participating in the programme we will help you to manage you condition and to meet other people who share similar experiences. We will also help you to develop a more effective relationship with the healthcare professionals who support you.

What does the course involve?

The courses are delivered by a team of trained volunteers who all have a long-term condition. Each course runts over six weekly sessions which last two and a half hours.
Each course covers a number of topics including:

  • dealing with pain, sleep and extreme tiredness
  • falls prevention
  • appropriate exercise
  • relaxation techniques and stress
  • healthy eating
  • communicating with family, friends and professionals
  • planning for the future

Availability

There are six to eight courses a year across the whole county; the location and dates depend on venues and availability of tutors. The currently available courses are listed below:

Dates for courses in Cornwall  up to March 2018

Liskeard

TBC

Penzance

Ludgvan Community Centre
Fairfields
TR20 8ES
Penzance

Friday 6th October
Friday 13th October
Friday 20th October
Friday 27th October 2017

All courses take place between 10.30 to 1p.m

Bude

Parkhouse Centre
Bude
EX23 8LD

Monday 30th October
Monday 6th November
Monday 13th November
Monday 20th November
Monday 27th November
Monday 4th December

All courses take place between 2pm – 4.30pm

St Austell

Bethal Church Hall
St Austell

Thursday 11th January 2018
Thursday 18th January 2018
Thursday 25th January 2018
Thursday 1st February 2018
Thursday 8th February 2018
Thursday 15th February 2018

All courses take place between 10.30am – 1.00pm

Truro

Kea Community Centre
Playing Place
Truro

Wednesday 21st February 2018
Wednesday 28th February 2018
Wednesday 15th February 2018
Wednesday 7th March 2018
Wednesday 14th March 2018
Wednesday 21st March 2018
Wednesday 28th March 2018

All courses take place between 10.15am – 12.45pm

Resources

Expert Patient Programme Leaflet

Expert Patient Programme Registration Form

Contact Information

01579 373500 or 07824 598626